RSS

Thanksgiving

24 Nov

I’m normally oppposed (at least in part) to overly emotional and outward signs and displays of emotion and feelings (especially on things like facebook, etc.).  I don’t particularly buy into reading what I consider to be extravagant or excessive displays of others’ feelings.

Yet, as I sit here on a comfortable couch drinking a beer, watching football, surrounded by family, about to eat an excessive amount of food, I do feel that it’s an appropriate time to go through a quick list of things I’m thankful for…

But before I even go through this list, I think it’s important to remember that when we (and by we I also mean I) pause on Thanksgiving to remember some of the things that we’re thankful for and have been blessed with, that it’s not just Thanksgiving that many of us are afforded these blessings.  These are things that I am thankful for all of the time; Thanksgiving is just a good reason to take an extra couple of minutes to remember them.

I’m thankful that for my family.

That I was raised in a very stable house with siblings that I got along with (most of the time!) and with parents that were able to provide for more than my basic necessities.

I’m thankful that I’ve never truly gone hungry.

I’m thankful that I am employed (grad school is close enough…I’m able to live!)

I’m thankful for a little nugget named Em.

I’m thankful that I have no physical disabilities.

I’m thankful for having amazing friends.

I’m thankful for the rather extravagant meal that I’m about to indulge in.

I’m thankful for my two adorable little nieces who crack me up and make me smile.

I’m thankful that all of my family is in good health.

I’m thankful that I have both sets of grandparents alive and fairly well.

I’m thankful that I have enough free time to spend with people I care about.

I’m thankful for a new little puppy named Wendy.

I’m thankful that I have a warm, comfortable place to sleep every night and plenty of food to eat everyday.

I’m thankful that I’m able to travel to places to see different people that I enjoy seeing.

I’m thankful that I’ve been afforded many opportunities that many others aren’t for a variety of reasons.

I’m thankful that I have the luxury to have lounged around on Thanksgiving day without worrying about much.

I’m thankful that I have access to all kinds of technology that I use on a daily basis without thinking about.

I’m thankful that I have clean water other sanitation issues taken care of.

I’m thankful that I have a reliable car to get where I need to go.

I’m thankful that I get to experience four different seasons every year (even though I sometimes complain about the cold).

I’m thankful that I’m fortunate enough to care about frivolous things like sports and fantasy football, and television shows.

I’m thankful for all of the abilities that I’ve been gifted, and for the opportunity to develop those skills and even venture into new ones.

I’m thankful to be 26 and debt free with a supply of steady work when many others are not.

In short, I know that I’ve had all kinds of opportunities and gifts given to me.  I’ve tried not to squander many of these incredibly opportunistic and fortunate things; I know that opportunity enough is not enough to succeed and be happy –  I’ve tried to take advantage and utilize these things their fullest because I know that not everyone was given these things.  Being raised as a white, middle class, Christian male, in America, with a stable and supportive family, great friends, educational opportunities, and many other advantages have all contributed to many of the great things that I am thankful for (certainly not an exhaustive list, by the way).

And this is my sappy, Thanksgiving email.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Thanksgiving

  1. Trok

    November 24, 2011 at 8:27 PM

    But, the person I am most thankful for is Buddy. I am thankful that such an awesome person lets me hang out with them from time to time. He also wipes away my tears when I cry when my students write harsh reviews.

    Like

     
  2. Em

    November 25, 2011 at 12:03 AM

    what a sweetie. i’m so thankful for you. 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
