RSS

Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week

08 Jan

Goodness. This week is a tough one.  So many things I’ve eaten this week, and so many good things.  This makes it pretty tough to choose just one thing that I’ve eaten this week, but alas, duty calls.

But I’m going to cheat a bit, and maybe give a couple of honorable mentions anyway.  It’s my blog, so I can choose more than just one thing.  Sorry.  But I make the rules.

 

This first honorable mention may seem silly, but it was delicious and really just happened to hit the spot at the right time.

It’s a salad.  That’s right – a salad.  Sounds simple, and indeed it was, but it just really happened to be on point for that particular night.  This was a fairly simple grilled chicken salad with bacon, onion, carrot, green pepper, cilantro, egg, dressing.  Honorable mention.

 

Finally, after tallying all the votes,  there’s been a tie.  That’s right – the first ever tie in the history of “Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week”!  I was as shocked as you.

I only have one picture, so we’ll start with that meal.  That meal happened to be chicken fajitas.  Certainly not the most difficult thing to make, but definitely tasty (a favorite whenever I hit up Mexican restaurants).

There we have it – a lovely chicken fajita.  Grilled chicken (seasoned with some Mexican spices), grilled onions, green peppers and tomatoes, topped with some shredded lettuce and all piled on some homemade guacamole (avocado, cilantro, red onion, lime juice, and tomato).  Hard to go wrong with that kind of a line-up.

 

Also coming in first place for the week (sorry, no picture) was a meal I had while on a lovely date at Puccini’s on 4th Street.  This is a nice Italian restaurant that we have both been wanting to try for a while and Christmas served as a good reason to go (we like to do things like that for special occassions instead of just gifts).

We started with delicious garlic break with homemade marinara on the side to dip.  Then I ordered a delicious dish of tortellini with a pesto/tomato sauce hybrid (this completely made the dish!).  It was completed with grilled beef tips, mushroom, onion, and red pepper.  Truly delectable.  We even splurged and split a dessert of cheesecake (I’m not usually one to order desserts, but hey, this was a special occassion).  It was worth it.  Tasty.

So while Puccini’s may be a bit nice for a random night out, the food was delicious and was definitely worth it for a nice date.  We were both extremely pleased with our meals and are looking forward to another occassion to make it back!

And that’s how the first ever tie shakes out for “Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week”.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 8, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week

  1. Em

    January 8, 2012 at 10:26 PM

    nom nom nom nom you impress me

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
