RSS

Juice Cleanse Day 2 Update

22 Feb

Here I am, nearing the end of my second day on the juice cleanse. (See post below about the juice cleanse if you’re entirely confused by that first sentence.)  So far, so good.  I’m still alive and well and am actually feeling pretty darn good.  Here are some of the hi/low-lights:

Weight: So far I’ve actually maintained right about the same weight as when I started the cleanse (I was admittedly a couple of pounds low when I started, but haven’t seemed to drop any extra).

The Flush: So while I was a bit anxious about how this would go before I started, I was actually sort of pleasantly surprised.  We’ll leave it at that.

How I feel: So far, like I said above, I feel pretty darn good.  Last night (end of day 1), I was definitely a bit more tired a bit earlier than usual, but that’s sort of to be expected.  I felt a bit lethargic for a bit this afternoon, but I was doing a lot of walking around campus, so that’s not terribly surprising either.  Right now, however, I’m feeling pretty good – awake, alert, and not hungry or empty.

Brown rice: I’ve never been quite so glad to see, taste, or smell brown rice as I was last night.  Definitely needed it last night (with a squeeze of lime, it really hit the spot).  Tonight, I didn’t feel like I needed it quite as much, but it was definitely good to have.  (Remember, that for our cleanse, we are doing 1 serving of brown rice per day.)

The JUICE/smoothies:  There have been some great and some not so great and others somewhere between.

Great: apple, banana, grape

Not so great: spinach, celery, carrot, garlic, tomato

Great: strawberry, banana, grape, spinach

Somewhere in between: carrot, apple, corn

Great: cucumber, strawberry, banana, orange

Somewhere in between: blueberry, pea, cucumber, grape

Not great: (experimental – before the cleanse started) avocado, banana

As you can see, so far we’re doing alright.  More stuff that’s good than not.  Not feeling like a starved child who hasn’t eaten for days.  And maintaining sanity throughout.  Thus far – success.  Only a few days left…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in Food, Projects/Activities

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Juice Cleanse Day 2 Update

  1. Buddy

    February 22, 2012 at 10:52 PM

    I am giving up your blog for lent

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
