RSS

Best Thing I’ve Eaten this Past Week (or Two)

05 Mar

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted on this particular topic.  It doesn’t mean that I haven’t eaten anything good or that I’ve forgotten about it (it’s one of my favorite weekly posts!), but there was a little juice cleanse that really cut down on my choices (I don’t assume people would have been interested in looking at pictures of smoothies – though some were quite good).

So now that I’ve been back to “normal food” for close to two weeks, it’s a great time to share some of the delicious food I’ve had.  As always, it was not an easy decision and there were several contenders…

In fact, I’ve been keeping track extra closely this past week because it is national nutrition month, and IU is having a photo contest for different healthy plates/meals for people to submit to.  If I don’t win one of the actual categories, I’m bound to win most persistent, as I’ve posted something nearly every day.

Here are a couple of highlights:

Here’s a lovely breakfast of a broiled grapefruit sprinkled with brown sugar and peanut butter and honey wheat toast.  Not in serious contention for best thing of the past week (or two), but still a nice way to start off the morning!

Delicious, homemade chicken stir fry.  Can’t argue with the way this tasted!

Quick, easy, and delicious lunch wraps: ham, spinach, grape tomato, a sprinkle of cheese, and a schmear of homemade pepper sauce.

And now a drumroll for the two real contenders………

This was particularly delicious!  Fajitas.  Can’t beat that at all….  Grilled, spiced chicken, satueed bell peppers and onion, cheese, black beans, and homemade guac (avocado, cilantro, diced red onion, grape tomato, and lime juice).  Really knocked this one out of the park!

This one was particularly fun because it was new, and happened to work out really well!  Lightly breaded tilapia on a bed of brown rice topped with a homemade salsa fresca (diced tomatoes, onion, pepper, cilantro, and lime), and a side of broccoli and radish.

This edition’s winner is……..wait for it……..wait for it: both!  Both are winners.  We have a 1A award that goes to the breaded tilapia meal on brown rice with the salsa freseca and side of broccoli and radish.  This slips into the 1A slot because it was delicious, and it was something new that worked out even better than I had envisioned!

And that makes the fajitas the winner of the 1B award (still a winner!).  These were better than any fajitas I’ve had at any restaurant (#notsohumblebrag), and were phenomenal in general.  I give them the 1B slot because I’ve already given the award out to fajitas in an ealier edition of “The Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week” (though this version was better than the previous version!).

So now, I’m back on my game.  Back to eating real food and enjoying every minute of it!  Happy eating to all, and to all a good night!

As always: Eat. Be Happy.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Best Thing I’ve Eaten this Past Week (or Two)

  1. Buddy

    March 6, 2012 at 10:54 AM

    You cook about 7 nights a week more than I do. Don’t worry, next year I will have time to take pictures of food to rival your blog.

    Like

     
  2. trokspot

    March 6, 2012 at 12:13 PM

    you can come to my own personal cooking school. one on one cooking lessons. satisfaction guarenteed. 😉

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
