RSS

Tatted Up?

06 Apr

We’ve probably all heard the saying: What Happens in Vegas, Stays in Vegas.  That is indeed Sin City’s tagline – and promise.  Go to Vegas, go crazy, and then go back to your normal life as if nothing had happened.

In the movie, The Hangover, Lame Doug’s dad makes makes an addendum to the famous Vegas saying: “Except herpes.  That shit’ll come back with you.”

   (Our Hotel: Excalibur)                         In just about a month and a half I’ll be heading out to Vegas to celebrate my youngest sister’s 21st birthday.  What better way for all of us older siblings to welcome our youngest to the fabulous world of drinking and gambling (legally) than a trip to the mecca itself: Vegas!  It promises to be a great time, though one that we may have to add our own addition to Vegas’ motto: “Except tattoos.  That shit’ll stay with you forever.” (Or until we’re willing to pay thousands of dollars for a laser tattoo removal.)

See, at this point, my siblings have decided that a trip to Vegas may not be memorable enough on its own – that perhaps, we should all get tattoos while there (potentially matching – or at least matching some sort of theme).  So this has been a topic bounced around the past week or so as we are all looking forward to the actual trip.

While I certainly don’t mind (and even like well-done) tattoos, I’m having a hard time deciding if it’s for me or not.  What would I get? Where would I get it? Will I still want it there in 10 years? How much will it cost?  How big/small?  Will it take time away from stuff I want to be doing while in Vegas?

These are some of the questions that have been running through my mind since the idea was initially brought up.  As someone who is usually not an impulsive type of person (indeed, I sometimes struggle with decisions in general), I’m just not that sure if there’s anything that I’m going to want on me for such a long period of time.  Especially depending on how prominently displayed it is.

Again, while I often appreciate well-done tattoos, I am aware of the stigma that others still tend to have of people with tattoos.  It’s absolutely the case that tattoos are becoming more and more normalized as more and more people get inked, but people still notice and make value judgements – it’s naive to think they don’t.  Of course, you can always manage this stigma by deciding on where you get the tattoo, how prominently displayed it is (or easily covered), and what the actual content of the tattoo is.  So much to think about and consider…

Any thoughts or advice from those with/without tattoos??

For now enjoy a few interesting pictures of some tattoos:

Not arrogant at all...

I actually like this one.

Weird. But I could always grow my hair out??

How could I say no to a Wendy tat?!? I should get a portrait of her face...

Interesting…

These newer white tattoos seem to be pretty popular now (especially with the ladies). They kind of look like scars...

I actually always said that I wanted this tattoo if I got one. Just the sun part though.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Tatted Up?

  1. Jordan

    April 7, 2012 at 11:01 AM

    You should get Rasheed’s sun tat. But as a tramp stamp. With Wendy’s face in the middle.

    You’re welcome. Can’t wait to see it.

    Like

     
  2. Buddy and Wendy

    April 7, 2012 at 9:43 PM

    I agree with Jordan. You really need to alter your clean cut, All-American look to fit into sociology academia. I would grow a really long beard or get a bunch of facial piercings. If you need any more ideas, just take a glance into Starbucks or an Apple Store.

    Like

     
  3. Birdman

    April 7, 2012 at 9:48 PM

    I don’t see anything wrong with tattoos.

    Like

     
  4. trokspot

    April 7, 2012 at 10:50 PM

    @jordan – that is probably the best advice i have received so far. i was thinking of a life-sized portrait on my back shoulder, but i don’t know how i could’ve overlooked the tramp-stamp combining my former dream of a ‘sheed tat.

    @buddy – academia is full of crazies.

    @birdman – glad my blog is getting some celeb recognition. and from someone who has a lot of expertise in this particular area.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
