RSS

Pull-up power

16 May

Well, the summer has arrived.  I survived grading final papers and exams, and then my own qualifying exams.  It was a bit of a hectic final stretch, but I believe I crossed the finish line successfully (still waiting to hear on quals…).

In the midst of that final stretch, working out took a bit of a backseat; though at the same time, I was brought back to the basics.  Confusing, I know.  What I mean is that I didn’t have the same amount of time to put towards my usual workouts (usually a mix of my own stuff at home, running, abs, weightlifting, and hours and hours of basketball).  But what I did make sure to make time for was to use my iron gym (honestly, one of the best purchases I’ve made – and no, they’re not paying me to say that, though I’d gladly accept cash or check!) to rip off some pull-ups every now and then as a break and a quick way to blow off energy without having to leave my apartment or spend a lot of time away from work.

Ok, different kind of pull-ups… wise guy.

I’ve always  been a big fan of pull-ups.  Pull-ups (and having a pull-up bar) can provide an incredible full-body work out if you want (if done correctly).  There is an almost limitless variety of pull-ups you can do that will work just about anywhere you need/want.  So while I haven’t gotten away from pull-ups too much, I have decided to re-emphasize pull-ups.

Why?  A couple of reasons:

1) Like I said, pull-ups are great for you and can work a variety of muscles

2) I have a bit more time now that it is summer

3) Why not??  I love staying in good shape and this is just as good as anything!

So, I’ve decided to do 100 pull-ups a day.  Each day*. This whole summer.  This doesn’t mean that I have to do them all at once, or even all in one “workout” time period or something like that.  This means that I just have to get them done.  If I want to do 25 when I wake up, 25 at lunch, 25 before dinner, and then 25 before bed, then that’s fine.  If I want to just pick a short slot of time and crank them out, that’s also fine (it also doesn’t have to be in sets of 25).

This is simply a little side project that will be added onto whatever I’m already doing.  For example, even on the days I go in to play basketball, I still have get my pull-ups in somehow. If I’m in/near my apartment quite a bit and it only takes a minute to get a set in, then there’s no excuse as to why I can’t find 4-5 random minutes throughout the day to do some pull-ups.

So tomorrow is day 3.  (Yes, I’ve already done days 1 and 2.)  I’ll add another post in the near future with some of the variations I do as part of my pull-up routines.

*I say “each day” here with a bit of caution.  I already know that there will be several days throughout the summer where I will not have access to a pull-up bar.  On these occasions, I will make sure to do at least 100 push-ups (not quite the same, but a viable substitute when I can’t get to a pull-up bar).

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Pull-up power

  1. Shouldland

    May 16, 2012 at 11:53 AM

    Great stuff. The push ups will help mix it up too as it works the opposite muscles. We call pull ups ‘chin ups’ in Australia, i guess they are the same thing. Good for a steady jumpshot and dominating the boards.

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      May 16, 2012 at 3:28 PM

      Thanks! Lots of people tend to forget about the basics of pull-ups and push ups (there’s a cool program for push ups if you’re interested: http://www.hundredpushups.com where the focus is obviously more on push ups.

      The chin ups and pull ups are pretty interchangeable terms here – though some people differentiate by the way you grip the bar with your hands (pull-ups being with your hands pointing away from you while chin ups you have your grip so that your palms would be pointing towards your face).

      Thanks for the comment!

      Like

       
  2. hammy

    May 16, 2012 at 9:45 PM

    good idea! i’m going to do pushups 2! I’m going 2 try the http www hundred pushups com!

    Like

     
  3. home workout

    March 11, 2016 at 3:21 PM

    Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of
    msn. That is an extremely smartly written article.

    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will definitely comeback.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
