RSS

INSANITY: Update

04 Jun

Challenging.

That’s the one word I would use to best describe the first “real” insanity workout.  If you want to add a modifier, Extremely Challenging.  Perhaps, you get the point either way – it was not something you could cruise through.  The initial “fit test” was pretty difficult, it’s designed to be that way; whenever you are trying to max out reps for a period of time, it should always be difficult because you’re pushing yourself to the limit, regardless of whether you are a complete beginner or in top condition.  Keeping that in mind, I was already a bit tight/sore when we started in on day 2 this morning.

Coupled with that, this morning happened to be the first time in quite some time that I’ve worked out early in the morning.  It takes me back to my summers throughout high school where I was up every day with a 6am run lasting anywhere from 3 to 12 miles.  After a while, your body gets used to the early morning jolt of physical activity, and I’m expecting (hoping for!) the same with these workouts.  Because of our opposite work schedules, at least 3-4 of our workouts each week will end up being early morning workouts (again, the sooner I get readjusted to that, the better!).

The Workout:

Like I said, the workout was extremely challenging.  Even if it had not been an early morning workout, it would have been really tough.  Shaun T. really does stick to the workout plan of prolonged, high-intensity cardio moves, followed by very short 30 second breaks.

The length of the workout was reasonable.  When you’re going at such a high intensity level, there’s only so long you can continue working out in a productive manner (i.e. without completely sacrificing form).  By the time we got to the end, I was there.  Completely spent.  You get a lot done in a relatively short amount of time.

How I felt:

Like I mentioned, I was a little sore going into the workout.  Coming out of it, I know I’m going to be sore going into day 3.  There’s really no way around it.  No matter how ‘fit’ you might think you are, these workouts (especially initially) are going to get you.  Sorry, hammies.  I’ll be sure to try and loosen up extra well tomorrow morning.

By the end of the workout, I was near exhaustion.  It was tough.  Again, especially in the initial stages of the program, I see this as basically inevitable.  I really had to force myself to try and stay with it the last few exercises.

Drenched.  I was a sweaty, sweaty man.  I felt like I ended up drinking a good amount of the sweat that was pouring off my face – and that wasn’t good.  High-intensity cardio with very short recovery periods will make you sweat, no doubt.

Sore.  Did I mention that already?  Well, I have been a bit stiff walking around all day; it appears that today’s workout compounded with the fit test was enough to create a little soreness. (And I was one of those “fit people” that Shaun T. was challenging…)  Again, I’ll have to make sure I loosen up a bit before bed and then again first thing in the morning.

That’s about it for now.  The journey has begun.  I won’t be updating about Insanity every day (too many other things to blog about), but I will give periodic updates on how I’m feeling, any changes, pros/cons, obstacles/hurdles, or anything else that comes along.  It promises to be a tough, but fun journey!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2012 in Projects/Activities, Sports

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “INSANITY: Update

  1. Joe Owen

    June 12, 2012 at 5:17 PM

    You rock, Trok. I just restarted Insanity as well. Push through –

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      June 12, 2012 at 5:41 PM

      Man, it IS tough! But only in week 2 and I can already feel the workouts coming (slightly) more doable. Round two for the wedding/honeymoon!?! nice!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
