RSS

Birthday Stuff

12 Jun

Well, we’ve made it a couple of days past the weekend, which means we’ve made it a couple of days past my birthday.  Twenty-seven sounds old.  It kind of overestimates my age if you ask me – I look much younger, I’m very active, I’m still in school (albeit teaching while in grad school), I don’t make any money (basically), I’m not married, I have no kids, I have very few formal obligations…..  All in all, it just seems a little weird to think that I’m twenty-seven.  Not that I’m complaining.  I’ve had it pretty good up until now.  I’m enjoying my time, I have great people around, and I have enough money to live and do many of the things I like to do.

But enough of the sentimental/introspective “what does my age even mean” stuff.  Here, I’d like to share some of the highlights of my birthday weekend.  I hadn’t planned on doing anything super special for my birthday, but it still turned out to be a lovely weekend.

Bloomington Beerfest

What a lucky coincidence for me – during my birthday weekend there happened to be a Craft Brew Festival sponsored by the Indiana Brewers Guild held right here in Bloomington.  This was reason enough for me to invite a few friends down for the weekend to share in this event!

Historic Woolery Mill

The venue was a historic mill here in Bloomington, and turned out to be perfect for the event.  The high roof and windowless panes provided some shade while allowing a nice breeze to get through on this hot day.

Jac loves to photobomb.

Pretty impressive crowd.

The dudes loved the beerfest!

The ladies loved beerfest as well!

Me and my swag bag. Unfortunately, not as much swag at this beerfest as the last one we went to…

Al, always the contemplative type, let us in on his “beerfest theory/typology” of people who go to beerfests.  We spent much of our afternoon in search of the elusive Type 7 (Santa or elf – of which we actually found 2!)…

Post-Beerfest:

TBH (to be honest), the beerfest in and of itself would have been a great birthday weekend treat, but at twenty-seven, I’m not going to simply stop after an afternoon beerfest event.  Instead, we popped back to my place, got a little food (and maybe a short nap – hey, I said I was twenty-seven), and then headed out.  For whatever reason, there weren’t many people out in Bloomington that night, but we managed to have a pretty fun time anyway…

Just some dudes hanging at the bar.

Birthday shots! Cheers!

Al dancing it out because he made it past midnight!

After that, we made a late-night run to Taco Rocket – a perfect end to the night.  The next morning to went to a nice little breakfast place and then it was adios to my friends.  After that, all was back to normal.  Almost.

Birthday dinner:

Actually, Em and I decided to go to one of our favorite restaurants here in town – Japanee – for a late birthday dinner (I had to work in the evening at my side job – calling people and politely asking them to take a nationally representative survey – only to have them hang up on me).  But we both love the sushi at Japanee, and that made up for it!

Yum!

And after that great meal, Em had a little surprise in store for me – an ice cream cake!

After that, it really was back to normal.  But only for a week, because then it’s Em’s birthday!  Then we’re going to repeat all sorts of fun birthday activities and things (unfortunately no brewfest, but perhaps we’ll find something to replace it!).

All in all, it really was a great birthday weekend.  I got to spend it with some of my good friends, got to drink some beer, ate some delicious food, and had a great time.  And now I’m 27 – though you’d probably never guess it!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2012 in Food, Projects/Activities

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Birthday Stuff

  1. hammy

    June 12, 2012 at 10:16 PM

    happy belated bday!

    Like

     
  2. foodie

    June 12, 2012 at 10:16 PM

    beerfest on your bday! lucky you!

    Like

     
  3. home chef king

    June 12, 2012 at 11:51 PM

    Birthday sushi!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
