RSS

Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week

21 Oct

This week, as always, there were several contenders to take the crown for “Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week”.  Some delicious stir fry, homemade soup, homemade pizza, and dinner out at a Turkish restaurant are all deserving candidates.

However, I decided to go with a delicious, mid-week lunch.  Er…breakfast for lunch. Dunch?  You decide.  It was an omelet*.

The omelets were partly inspired by some of the leftover sausage that we had from our homemade pizza earlier in the week.  I actually went a step farther and decided to make a “pizza omelet.”  Em decided to have a regular omelet (still delicious).  Here’s her omelet:

The veggies for the inside.

Sauteeing the sausage, mushroom, and onion.

Her omelet ready to be folded. Filled with sausage, mushroom, onion, tomato, and cheese.

Ready to hit the plate!

Em’s plate. The omelet along with a piece of toast with some smeared avocado topped with some red pepper flake.

Pretty delicious plate.  Here’s one shot of my “pizza omelet” as well:

Pizza omelet!

This really did end up tasting like pizza.  I used generally the same ingredients: sausage, mushroom, onion, and tomato.  But I used mozzarella cheese on the inside, and actually added a bit of homemade pizza sauce from our pizzas earlier in the week.  Pizza party!

As always: Eat. Be Happy!

*It’s no secret that in an alternate life, I am a perfectly happy hotel chef churning out omelet after delicious omelet at the breakfast buffet. 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week

  1. Buddy

    October 21, 2012 at 3:46 PM

    Taco Rocket

    Like

     
  2. Brunch

    October 22, 2012 at 2:17 PM

    I’m not sure I understand this “Dunch” construction.

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      October 22, 2012 at 5:44 PM

      You’re right…should probably be brunch. I was thinking of my usual dinner topics mixed with lunch. But it is clearly a breakfast item that I had for lunch => brunch.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
