RSS

November = Time for Thankful Reflection

12 Nov

I’ve noticed a trend on Facebook where people have decided to post one thing that they are thankful for each day during the month of November.  Why?  November is Thanksgiving month, and I suppose that people just thought this might be a nice way of giving thanks.

I have also noticed there has been some pushback from others towards individuals who have taken on this “be thankful every day” challenge.  I’m not sure if it is entirely mean-spirited, or if some of this pushback is merely simple teasing; it’s probably some combination of both.  Either way, I hardly think it’s worth the effort to get mad at individuals for a bit of self-reflecting and cognizance of things that we should be thankful for.

After all, are these thankful statuses any worse than any of the “non-thankful” statuses that you are reading through every day without batting an eye??  They certainly cannot be worse than many of the ill-conceived and ill-informed political statements or theories that have been all over Facebook this past election.  (To be fair, some are so far out there that they are entertaining…)

Here’s a more light-hearted one from a guy stud I know on Facebook: #7- thankful that I still have a luscious head of hair. (In fairness, it’s a perfectly true statement!)

So in the end, although I’m not doing this myself, I have absolutely no problem with others taking part in this little November challenge.  I think that it’s important to reflect on some of the many, many things that many of us have to be thankful for – even when those things might seem a little mundane or silly.  Sometimes it’s those mundane or silly things that can really demonstrate just how much we have to be thankful for…

What about you guys? 

Anything you’re especially thankful for as Thanksgiving approaches??

Here is a throwback post from last Thanksgiving that I posted.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2012 in Advice, Projects/Activities

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “November = Time for Thankful Reflection

  1. Buddy

    November 12, 2012 at 6:22 PM

    I am thankful that I don’t have to see your face this month.

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      November 12, 2012 at 6:39 PM

      I am thankful for our friendship.

      Like

       
  2. talkavino

    November 12, 2012 at 8:35 PM

    I didn’t see any “thankful” status updates on the FB so far, but it sounds like a pretty cool idea. Not that I’m ready to do it myself, but I think finding good stuff to reflect upon is a very worthwhile exercise.

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      November 12, 2012 at 9:17 PM

      I have a few FB friends who have done this consistently and a handful of others who have sporadically posted things that they are thankful for this November.

      I agree with you…maybe not for me, but I certainly think there is some value to doing it.

      Like

       
  3. Buddy

    November 13, 2012 at 3:50 PM

    I am thankful for your blog and Wendy.

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      November 13, 2012 at 5:06 PM

      Wendy is thankful for treats. And belly rubs.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
