RSS

Since I’ve been gone…

07 Mar

It’s been about two weeks since I’ve blogged.  I believe that’s the longest stretch I’ve gone since Trokspot has been up and running (feel free to scroll through and prove me wrong on that claim).

To all of my loyal (and even those less loyal) readers, I offer my sincerest apology.  You probably had nothing to read, nothing to do, nothing to ponder while I was away.  I’ll try to make sure it never happens again.

Here are a few things that happened while I was off-duty:

The Oscars:

oscarsNow, I’m not a big Oscar watcher.  In fact, I don’t believe I’ve ever actually watched the Oscars in their entirety.  I didn’t pay close attention this year either, but we did have them on in the background.  I had actually seen some of the movies that were nominated (rare for me!), and actually a few of those that won different categories (thanks IMU!): Argo, Brave, and Skyfall.  Sure, it’s only three, but that’s a lot for me. Seth MacFarlane as host seemed to be not all that well-received by people for his hosting performance (a little over the top – who would’ve guessed?!).  On the other hand, Jennifer Lawrence can do no wrong.  Yes, I know – I’m so up on my E! news gossip.

The Harlem Shake:

This had started a while before my last post, but I think it has blown up even more since then.  One group, the Miami Heat (you may have heard of them), came out with their own rendition of this dance:

And those who actually live in Harlem and are aware of the original Harlem Shake responded (they were offended):

 

 

The Hoosiers are still doing basketball stuff:

IU is still good, though perhaps not as good as they should be.  They’ve lost two of their last three (even though they lost on their senior night, the senior class should be happy with what they’ve done in their careers).  They still have a chance to win the Big Ten title outright and are guarenteed a share of it.  They’re looking for a number one overall seed for the NCAA Tournament.  Regardless of who gets the number one overall seed (or any seed for that matter) it’s hard to say that there is a clear-cut favorite to win the who she-bang this year.  Should be a wild ride.

Sean is down to his final two ladies:

seanIt’s true – I’ve been watching “The Bachelor.”  In fact, I haven’t missed an episode.  Sean is now down to his final two ladies after giving AshLee the boot in dramatic fashion.  She refused to say anything to him, leaving him with just an icy death stare.  On the more recent “special episode” that got the heart-broken ladies back together, AshLee called Sean out saying that he had told her that “he had nothing with the other two girls,” which apparently made her confident that she was going to be the one ending up with Mr. Hunky Texas.  Instead, we will have to wait and see in a special 3 HOUR episode to see whether Sean goes with Catherine or Lindsay.  Drama drama drama.  (I’m on Team Lindsay!)

 

 

Food:

Yes, it’s true…I have been eating the past couple of weeks.  Here’s a tasty little shot of some salmon, asparagus, and a little side of pasta.  The light balsamic glaze made it an especially delightful meal:

salmon and asparagus

 

That’s just a snippet.  I’m sure I’m missing things, but these are some highlights. I’ll be sure to stay more on top of the game moving forward.  Enjoy the highlights, and feel free to chime in on anything that may not have made it!

 

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Since I’ve been gone…

  1. Buddy

    March 7, 2013 at 5:23 PM

    Sean picks Lindsay. I have friends at TMZ and ESPN who give me all the gossip.

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      March 7, 2013 at 11:54 PM

      I don’t know if I believe you, but I do think it’s the right choice. If I were a betting man, that’s who my money would be on. I thought he was going to cut Catherine last time.

      Like

       
  2. Andy

    March 8, 2013 at 1:29 PM

    I’d love to see a trokspot post about the direction of First Take recently, or of ESPN content in general. I feel that in the last few months, content has really dived off a cliff, with First Take full of boring Lakers rumors or cringe-inducing showdowns over nothing, and Mike&Mike full of inside jokes that aren’t funny. See, for example, the following: http://deadspin.com/5989414/bill-simmons-calls-the-bayless+sherman-first-take-meltdown-awful-and-embarrassing

    Big changes coming at ESPN? Or just more of the same? What does trokspot think of all of this?

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      March 8, 2013 at 2:12 PM

      Yeah, there’s plenty to say about that…especially now that FT dominates 4.5 hours of espn programming daily…
      Another Deadspin article that I had read a while back and agree with just about completely: http://deadspin.com/5929361/how-espn-ditched-journalism-and-followed-skip-bayless-to-the-bottom-a-tim-tebow-story

      I did do a sports analysts and accountability piece a while back (largely directed at FT), but there’s plenty of room for an update.

      I’ll put that one on the docket…I think it may take a bit of development…

      Like

       
      • trokspot

        March 8, 2013 at 2:14 PM

        PS. There have also been big rumors (apparently now more than rumors) that NBC/yahoo and now Foxsports are considering ponying up some money to create a legitimate network competitor for sports media.

        this could be interesting to watch develop. I think there are plenty of people fed up with E!SPN (as many like to joke) and perhaps a little competition will make them step up their game…

        Like

         
  3. Buddy

    March 8, 2013 at 5:17 PM

    I totally made that up because I don’t watch the show. Anyways, I like Andy’s request.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
