RSS

Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week

17 Apr

Two years ago, I lived on the other side of town.  Most days as I walked into campus, I passed by this little corner restaurant — The Turkuaz Cafe.  From the outside, it looked a bit dingy and run-down.  But everytime I walked by, it smelled absolutely delicious.

A bit dingy on the outside...

A bit dingy on the outside…

 

I talked and talked about eating there.  Two years later, it finally happened.  I Turkuaz-ed.  And it was delicious!  I’m sorry that I waited so long to finally make it there, because it’s probably the last time I will make it there.

The menu is traditional Turkish food (as far as I know), consisting largely of kebabs and pides.  A main entree comes with several courses and sides — soup, salad, bread, beans, rice, and couscous.  It really is a full meal that gives you a variety of great Turkish flavors and all for a great price!

The ambiance inside proved to be much better than the outside might suggest.  There was a traditional area where you can take off your shoes and eat on the floor, but also a series of u-shaped, very nice boothes for those who are a bit less adventurous (I guess that includes us).

My meal (instagrammed).

My meal (instagrammed).

I decided to get the lamb chops.  My first course was the red lentil soup (which was delicious, although to be honest the other Turkish restaurant down the street’s is slightly better).  The salad, couscous, cucumber salad, beans, rice, lamb chops (perfectly cooked!), and bread were absolutely phenomenal!

Em went with the chicken kebab which was recommended by our server.  It wasn’t a typical kebab on a stick; it actually came in a mini stew-pot, and then had all of the sides that came with mine.

Action shot.

Action shot.

Em’s meal was also excellent (yes, I finished it off for her when she got full!).  Having it almost as a stew was better than the kebabs we have had at the other Turkish restaurant (which were still yummy, but a bit drier).

The amount and quality of food was fantastic.  We both loved our meals and couldn’t believe that we had waited so long to finally check out the Turkuaz….we should have been going there all along!

As Always: Eat. Be Happy.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week

  1. Buddy

    April 17, 2013 at 8:45 PM

    I sure hope they have food in Florida because I will miss the monthly food blogs.

    Like

     
    • Al

      April 18, 2013 at 7:04 AM

      In the future, the “Best Thing I’ve Eaten This Week” will be a home-cooked meal by Al or Mickey Mouse.

      Like

       
      • trokspot

        April 18, 2013 at 9:45 AM

        I will be expecting 5-star home-cooked meals whenever we spend weekends with the Breitingers. And I think Wendy wants some of those fancy canned dog food meals as well. 😉

        Like

         
    • trokspot

      April 18, 2013 at 9:43 AM

      I hope they have food too, or else I will be hungry.

      Like

       
  2. Andy

    April 18, 2013 at 2:08 PM

    We just went there on Tuesday, and I got the lamb kebab. It was awesome. Only drawback is the lack of beer.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
