RSS

Did you mean: tankspot

03 Jun

I’ve been on the internets for a while now.  A fun little experiment I have done a few times – and will share here – is to test the waters (in this case, google) to see what *if any* kind of “internet presence” I have.

Spoiler Alert: It’s not much.

For example, go to google and type in “trokspot” and it already thinks you’ve made a mistake.  “Did you mean: tankspot” is what google will ask you.  That said, the first few pages that pop up on the google listings are mine.  So there’s a small victory there, I suppose.

There are some search terms that will bring up a trokspot post on the first page of google results.  So in that sense, perhaps I am gaining some sort of “web presence.”  Try these:

 

“trokspot”  –> no, it’s not tankspot…

“titanic stratification”  –> hey, #1 result here!

“wheel of fortune drinking game”  –> another #1 result!

“rocky and the american dream”

“btown bars”

“cohen couch”

“puppy thoughts”  –> just made the front page on this one

“sunbelt granola bars”

“hoosier haikus”

 

So, although google thinks that you must have made a mistake if you are searching for “trokspot”, there actually are several posts that come up on google’s first page of results.  This isn’t an exhaustive list (perhaps you’ll find more!), but it’s kind of nice to see that trokspot pops up (even if only on occassion), even when the search terms are pretty general.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Did you mean: tankspot

  1. Buddy

    June 3, 2013 at 1:19 PM

    You should do SEO to increase your presence and google analytics to track your presence. You could even do Google AdSense to generate some dollars.

    Here is a good article that makes it simple to SEO with wordpress. I bet wordpress has instructions in their help section as well.

    http://yoast.com/articles/wordpress-seo/

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      June 3, 2013 at 1:38 PM

      Maybe you can be the marketing tsar of trokspot…. I don’t really do much to promote it other than putting some of the posts on facebook. I could probably do a lot more with it than that… or you could.

      Like

       
  2. Jeff

    June 3, 2013 at 2:00 PM

    Trok, Trok, Trok. Google is Google because it’s a personalized experience. It’ll use your previous web searches and internet activity to produce its results. That’s a lot of what all this hubbub about privacy is about. I imagine, being the author of this blog, Google will think that the search results for this blog will be relevant to you. Even if it doesn’t realize that you haven’t been misspelling tankspot every time.

    There is Klout.com, a site that compiles your “influence” and measures your web-presence. You can connect it to this, Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook to get a stronger idea of what you’re putting out there without the bias of Google’s algorithms. Plus, if you reach certain ranks, they give you stuff.

    Like

     
    • trokspot

      June 3, 2013 at 2:53 PM

      So this post was (semi) inspired by a different blogger who did a similar type thing not too long ago, and since I’ve done similar things/searches in the past, I decided to pump in a few searches for some of my posts to see where they would shake out.
      Definitely rudimentary.

      And I will whole-heartedly admit to being naive in not thinking through all that whole bit (personalization of google stuff). I’ve also not heard of klout – seems neat, though I doubt I will sign up, and I doubt I would have any real klout on the internets. So I’m probably a bit behind the curve.

      But, as far as the google stuff goes, my history auto-clears and I have all of the temporary stuff (for the most part) clear out as I close my browser. So I wonder if it was, at least in some ways, “neutral” or “unbiased”, allegedly starting from a “clean slate search” with no history. Again, this might be further showing me being naive about the internets….haha.

      Like

       
      • trokspot

        June 3, 2013 at 2:59 PM

        PS. I also get it that even if there were such a thing as a “clean slate” search in google, that’s not the case for most people because of the personalization stuff for each individual person/computer. I guess it might be interesting to compare then different people’s orderings, etc.

        For example, someone who has never been here but searches one of those terms above, will trokspot pop up for them? Or if you search the terms above? Someone that occassionally comes stops in to read… Buddy (most frequent commenter, haha)…

        Glad that you brought that up, though, because I really did overlook it. And I’d never heard of klout.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
