RSS

movember madness

25 Nov

October is a month that has been dedicated to breast cancer awareness, with all sorts of fundraising drives and the color pink popping up virtually every which way you look.  It is truly a great movement for a worthy cause.  Several years ago, “movember” was started with the idea to raise awareness for various types of cancer that tend to affect men more than women, such as prostate cancer.

The term comes from combining “mustache” and “November” as the idea behind it was for individuals to grow out their mustaches for the entire month of November in a show of solidarity (often while trying to get donations from sponsors for this ridiculous endeavor).  It has gained more popularity and traction over the last few years.  Again, a great movement for a worthy cause.

This year, I decided to take part in the “movember” movement.  I’ve had facial hair for the last several years – essentially since I was able to grow it! – so my “sacrifice” actually came at the beginning of the month.  I decided to shave completely and start my movember journey from scratch — the first time I have been clean-shaven since 2008 (if I remember correctly).  After about a week I was pretty much back to normal, but that initial move was amusing, if nothing else!

about to get trimming

about to get trimming

what my mustache could have looked like at the start...ps. it is also perfectly acceptable for full beards and not just mustaches.

what my mustache could have looked like at the start…ps. it is also perfectly acceptable for full beards and not just mustaches for movember.

baby face. 16 again...

baby face. 16 again…?!

 

So as November – and movember – begins to wind down, I actually look pretty close to how I would normally look, though a bit bushier than my usual beard.  However, the clean-shaven look at the beginning of the month was certainly worth a laugh.  Not to mention that Em didn’t stop telling me how weird I looked, and I threw myself off everytime I happened to see myself in a mirror.  That, along with the feeling of shower water and the outside wind on my smoothe face (yes, there is a huge difference that is very noticeable!) made for an interesting first few days of movember.

Regardless of whether you decide to grow out your mustache or beard, consider trying to help raise awareness – or somehow contribute – to a good cause!

 

bonus! last time i was clean-shaven; halloween 2008 as michael phelps

bonus! last time i was clean-shaven; halloween 2008 as michael phelps

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2013 in Advice, Projects/Activities

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
