RSS

Breakfast Treat: Cook This, Not That!

12 Aug

I recently blogged aboutCook This, Not That!, a combination cook/health book which I’ve been reading.  I remarked how pleased I was with the amount of information and underlying philosophy with respect to cooking and eating.  I also said that I would try to post a few good meals that were inspired from this book.  So here’s a breakfast that I recently made, inspired by one of their “instant breakfast” ideas.

 

0810140922b

What I did:

~1/2 cup of salsa in the bottom of an oven safe bowl

2 eggs cracked on top

Sprinkle bit of shredded cheese on top, season with salt and pepper

Put in the oven ~12 mins, until the eggs are cooked

Top with a couple slices of avocado and a dollop of Greek yogurt (my additions to their recipe)

The Verdict: It was pretty delicious, and loaded with a good amount of protein.  It was also quite filling.  In fact, if I were to do it again, I would probably do it just about the same, except that Em and I would split it.  (She also requested a bit less salsa on the bottom, so I’d do slightly less if we were splitting.)  If I were to do it again for myself, I’d probably do everything in about the same proportion, but halve it (only one egg).  All in all, however, it was very easy, very tasty, and relatively quick (the prep time was very minimal, although it did take the egg ~12 minutes to cook).  I give it two thumbs up!

As Always: Eat. Be Happy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 12, 2014 in Budget/$$, Food, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
